For Links to Class websites and video features scroll to the bottom of this home page

Congratulations to Gold Medal winners - Dorian Van Rijsselberge (NED) and Marina Alabau (ESP)
Connect to Windsurfing
Archive News

YouTube  facebook  email

Subscribe to IWA News

Windsurfer International Magazine

What is Techno 293?

FW European Cup

Balcans 2012

Baltic Cup Latvia

Red Bull Storm Chase

Follow the winds


ad space


An Unforgettable Event in Porto for the NeilPryde Racing Series
Posted On:  12/07/2012 14:44:26

The NeilPryde Racing Series played out last Sunday at the Porto Extreme Sailing SeriesTM stop over. Forty seven windsurfers from Portugal competed with the universal one-design RS:One, an ISAF-approved class.

The RS:One Class features a new, attractive, and dynamic race format: one sail, one board - everyone on the same equipment allowing male and female racers of all ages to compete together.

Courses were set inside the Extreme Sailing SeriesTM nautical stadium on the Douro river, just meters from massive crowds (38 000 spectators estimated on Sunday), providing a unique spectator experience and allowing for some exciting close-quarter competition on water.

Racing in three divisions - male under 22 years (Espoir), male over 22 years (Senior) and male over 40 years old (Master) - The event comprised of six qualification heats and one fiercely contested final held in extremely challenging conditions with seven knots of current and with fluctuating winds of between 6 to 20 knots.

Being a one-design class, all RS:One equipment was supplied by NeilPryde, giving an equal chance to all competitors no matter sex or age. The winners of each division and overall Super Final winner shared the prize money of US$3,000.

NeilPryde Racing Series will continue its journey to Cardiff (Wales), Trapani (Italy), Nice (France), and Brazil, in collaboration with the Extreme Sailing SeriesTM

Female Division:
1- Patricia Santos

Men Espoir:
1- Frederico Rodrigues
2- Martim Monteiro
3- Fransisco Camara

Men Senior:
1- Carlos Filipe Meira de Barros
2- Moura Pedro
3- Ugur Iyigun

Men Master:
1- Bruno Bertolo
2- Jose Pedro Monteiro
3- Elisiario Carvalho

Super winner:
1- Carlos Filipe Meira de Barros

Please click here for the complete results.

Upcoming Events

Go direct to ENTER ON-LINE
(credit card required)


Event Reports

Formula Experience Formula WindsurfingIFCA   IMCO ISWCRaceboard  RsOne  Techno
website content © International Windsurfing Association, design by AWNet Limited © Christopher Gibson