For Links to Class websites and video features scroll to the bottom of this home page

Check out the new initiative from the Royal yachting Association trying to boost activity in windsurfing beyond the junior and youth age groups
Connect to Windsurfing
Archive News

facebook  email

Subscribe to IWA News

Windsurfer International Magazine


FWGP Liepaja

IFCA JY Wave Worlds

Weymouth Speed Week 2011

FW Greece


Raceboard Worlds - Champions Declared!
Posted On:  10/09/2011 13:39:50

Patrik Pollak (SVK 1), Harriet Ellis (GBR 607) and Santi Arteaga (ESP 1) have been declared men's, women's and youth champions at the end of the Raceboard World Championships 2011.

Only one race today in very light winds - the leaders in each division before today's race all won today.

Final Results

It was a tough battle for Patrik Pollak (SVK 1) to take the Men's World Champion title. Curro Manchon (ESP 9) had a flying start with two bullets before Patrik took the next three wins. Tension mounted as Curro took the following three races but Patrik finally took control winning the last four races of the championship. Co-organiser and competitor,Toni Colomar (ESP 66), started as one of the favourites for the title but will no doubt still be pleased to have a place on the podium.

In the women's fleet, today's win meant that Harriet Ellis (GBR 607) finished three points ahead of second placed Maria Domingues (ESP 11). Maria gave Harriet a run for her money by winning four of the races. 14 year-old Mar Lacambra (ESP 543) did really well to come third overall.

17 year old Santi Arteaga dominated the youth fleet throughout the championships. Daniel Blinnikka (FIN 5) also 17, second overall, won race 5 but his battles were with 19 year old Benjamin Coisne (FRA 259) who finished third and Toni Bonet (ESP 70) aged 15 who had a brief spell in the bronze position but finished fourth overall, 1st Junior.

The organisers have done a fantastic job here in L'Hospitalet deL'Infant - a good team with many enthusiastic volunteers - many thanks to them all.

Only one very light wind race was possible this afternoon - it was late afternoon before racing eventually got underway.

Equipment failure forced ESP 9 to retire from today's race so podium placed sailors in men's fleet remain as Patrik Pollak (SVK 1), Curro Manchon (ESP 9) and Toni Colomar (ESP 66).

Harriet Ellis (GBR 607) consolidated her position as overall leader in the women's fleet with a win today; Maria Dominguez (ESP 11) is comfortable in second, with Mar Lacambra (ESP 543) in third place.

Only one change at the top of the youth fleet - a bullet from Junior Toni Bonet (ESP 70) moved him up to third place overall, behind Santi Arteaga (ESP 1) and Daniel Blinnikka (FIN 5)

Saturday is the last day - podium places could change!

Results after 10

Upcoming Events

Go direct to ENTER ON-LINE
(credit card required)


Formula Experience         Formula Windsurfing        IFCA          IMCO         ISWC         Raceboard          Techno
website content © International Windsurfing Association, design by AWNet Limited © Christopher Gibson