For Links to Class websites scroll to the bottom of this home page

IWA Women Windsurfing Calendar 2010 - NOW AVAILABLE - Click here to buy
Archive News


Featuring beautiful action shots of twelve of the world's best windsurfing women:  Sarah-Quita Offringa, Tatiana Howard, Morane Demont, Nayra Alonso Cabrera, Beth Winkler, Cagla Kubat, Marta Hlavaty, Junko Nagoshi, Karin Jaggi, Allison Shreeve, Alice Arutkin, and Laure Treboux

Go to our SHOP

Fortaleza FW Grand Prix - Great fightback by Gabriel Browne to seal victory!
Posted On:  27/11/2009 12:00:00 AM
With 2 races on the final day of the Fortaleza Grand Prix it was all to play for. The overnight lead held by Alberto Menegatti (ITA 4) all but evaporated with a disastrous first race this morning, when he finished 10th. It was a race that Gabriel Browne (BRA 50) led from start to finish.  It would take a minor miracle in race 15 for Alberto to regain the overall lead - a reversal of the positions in the previous race would do it! 

Alberto led at the start - and "Biel" was down the fleet; however the young Brasilian fought back to take first place on the last leg of the race.  What a finish.  Alberto had to be content with second place in the race, and second overall in the event.  A consistent performance from Steve Allen (AUS 0) and a third place in the final race ensured he had final place on the podium.

An exciting finale to a fantastic Grand Prix which formula enthusiasts could follow live thanks to coverage on TV Uniao.

For full details - results, reports, photos - go to: 

Wind Brasil - organised in association with ABWS -

Report from Days One-Four


Upcoming Events


2010 South American Championships
Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil. 25-31 Jan
South Americans Online Booking

2010 Mendoza FW World Championships
Argentina.  21-27 March
FW Worlds Online Booking

2010 IWA African Windsurfing Championships
Sidi Bou Said, Tunisia. 22-28 March
African Championships Online Booking

IFCA ProKids, Junior, Youth & Masters Slalom World Championship
Hyeres, France.  10-15 April 2010
JYM Slalom Worlds Online Booking


Formula Experience         Formula Windsurfing        IFCA          IMCO         ISWC         Raceboard          Techno
website content © International Windsurfing Association, design by AWNet Limited © Christopher Gibson