international windsurfing association
News Item
Windsurfing Euro-Cup Annual Ranking 2005
Posted On:  01/09/2005

Kiel, September 1st 2005.

The Windsurfing Office presents the annual ranking lists for the Windsurfing Euro-Cup 2005. A total of 5 regattas were run this season – four racing events and one slalom regatta. Not less then 181 different competitors took part in the discipline Racing and 40 in the discipline Slalom. Practically all top windsurfers participated in the series making the Windsurfing Euro-Cup the most important Racing and Slalom series in the World. Wojtek Brzozowski (POL-10, Starboard, Neil Pryde) was able to win the Racing while Finian Maynard (IVB-11, F2, Naish Sails) took the victory in the Slalom.

In the Discipline Racing Wojtek Brzozowski was able to win two of the four events. Together with a second and a fourth this added up to a total of 359 points, missing the optimum only by one point. On the second place followed the Argentinean Gonzalo Costa Hoevel (ARG-3, F2, Neil Pryde) who presented a solid performance with two seconds and one seventh place and a total of 352 points. Position three goes to the Italian Champion Andrea Cucchi (ITA-1, Starboard, Neil Pryde) with 348 points in front of Michael Polanowski (POL-16, Starboard, Severne, 342 points) from Poland and Danish Jesper Vesterström (DEN-111, Starboard, Neil Pryde, 336 points). In the sixth and seventh place we find the two Italians Davide Beverino (ITA-3, Starboard, Neil Pryde, 335 points) and Alberto Menegatti (ITA-456, F2, Gaastra, 334
points). Wilhelm Schurmann (BRA-999, Starboard, Neil Pryde) managed to defend the eighth position with 333 points against Keith Atkinson (GBR-56, Starboard, Neil Pryde, 332 points) and Miguel Martinho (POR-5, Starboard, Neil Pryde, 324 points).

In the Slalom only one valid result was possible. Finan Maynard took the victory. On the second place follows Ben van der Steen (NED-57, Exocet, Neil Pryde). As best European competitor he is the new IFCA European Slalom Champion 2005. With his strong performance he was able to defeat Sam Ireland (CAN-1, Starboard, Neil Pryde) from Canada. The Israeli Arnon Dagan (ISR-1, Fanatic, Neil Pryde) managed to defend his fourth place against Dan Ellis (GBR-52, Fanatic, Naish Sails) from Great Britain. Marco Begalli (ITA-415, Fanatic, Neil Pryde) was able to grab the sixth place in the tie break in
front of the three best Turkish competitors Hüseyin Sert (TUR-10, F2, North Sails), Ali Palamutcu (TUR-3, F2, North Sails) and Bora Kozanoglu (TUR-11, Starboard, Maui Sails). The top ten are completed by Wolfgang Verlaeckt (BEL-3, Exocet, Neil Pryde) from Belgium.

With the final event in Oeiras the Windsurfing Euro-Cup tour 2005 came to an end. But the preparations for the season 2006 are already running on full gas. Several venues and organizers have already expressed their interest to host an event of the most important Racing and Slalom series of the world. So the Windsurfing Office is optimistic to present an even more attractive calendar for the coming season.

The official website of the series with more information is


Wojtek Brzozowski (POL-10, Starboard, Neil Pryde): “I am very happy to win the Windsurfing Euro-Cup 2005. This is a great gratification for me, because I didn’t win the FW Europeans in Greece. The more I am happy to win the annual ranking and to become the Euro-Cup Racing Champion 2005. This was my goal for the whole season. Last year I wasn’t able to take part in all regattas but this year I competed in all EC racing events and did excellent. The Euro-Cup was a great success with varying challenging conditions, great events and nice venues. I am looking forward to the EC season 2006!”

Finian Maynard (IVB-11, F2, Naish Sails): “The onset of slalom back into the limelight of professional windsurfing brings a smile to my face and many others as the action is intense and fun to do and watch. Although there was only one EC slalom event that counted this year I am happy to have been the winner and I hope next year the competition will heat up further to bring one of the strongest roots of racing back to where it belongs. Good sailing and always bring a spare rope with you! Cheers, Finian Maynard.”

EC Annual Ranking List 2005 RACING
EC Annual Ranking List 2005 SLALOM

web design © Christopher Gibson